It’s been awhile!

I started grad school in January, so my “fun” reading has dropped off quite a bit.  I have managed to get into a few new series though that I really enjoy.

First, I’m in love with the Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead.  I honestly can’t remember when I read the first one, and I know I picked up one of the 5 on Kindle, and another on Audible.com.  The most recent, Spirit Bound – Book 5, came in the mail in all its beautiful hardcover prettiness.  I read it over the course of about 6 hours, then promptly kicked myself because now I have to wait until December for book 6.

I love the relationship between Rose & Dimitri, but am starting to like Aiden as well.  I have no idea how this will end up, but I’m still pulling for Dimitri.  It probably comes from some deep internal need to rescue the damaged soul – which is SO not good for me, but regardless, I can hope for it in books right?

In a stunning shift to a totally different genre, I also picked up Lee Child’s new Jack Reacher book – 61.  (ok stunning may be a bit of a reach, but I like the word).  I LOVE Jack Reacher.  I love Lee Child’s books.  I was thrilled to find out he has a new release this month.  I pre-ordered it, then lent it to my dad so he could read it first since I had a lot of school work that week.  After I read it, I’ll be sharing it with another two co-workers and my mom.  My guess, Mom will get it next.

Jumping to the top of my to be read pile is a book by Megan Whalen Turner called The Thief.  I’ve read reviews of the series on several different blogs, most notably The Book Smugglers review, and have been dying to read it for awhile.  I couldn’t find it in several bookstores that I visited, and ended up searching again on Amazon and found out it’s been Kindleized.  I downloaded it pretty darn quick.  Now to find the time to read it!!

I have a TON more books on my to-be-read shelf.  Even though I don’t have the time to read, apparently I still have the time to go to bookstores and browse on Amazon.   I’m planning on updating my TBR list on this site soon.  Since my birthday is this week, and I’m taking a vacation day to celebrate, I may end up going through my books as part of my Day of Happiness!!

Leave a Reply

