Happy Memorial Day Weekend

This has always been one of my favorite weekends.  Every once in a while my birthday falls on Memorial day, so I kind of consider this my birthday weekend ….. which is of course part of my birthday week ….. which is part of my birthday month.  Why limit yourself to just one day?

When I was a kid, we used to go camping this weekend.  I remember freezing in this little tiny camper with four people, five once my youngest brother came along.  I remember my dad’s friend saying “close your mouth and open your ears” ….. (he said that to me a lot!).  I remember blueberry hill at Wilderness (or was it Y-Camp?) ….. it’s probably just a little mound, not a hill, but to me it was huge.  I remember fishing with my dad and thinking “what’s the big fuss …. this is kinda boring”.  But it was time with my dad which was always treasured.  I remember the sand bar out in the lake (not sure which one) and getting in the row boat to go all the way out there, getting out of the boat and having the water be up to our knees.  I have lots of good memories about this weekend.

My plans for this weekend are a little different than childhood.  First, I have no need to go out and freeze this weekend.  I’m more than happy to take the kids camping when the overnight temperature stays above 40.  I have the afternoon off work today, so will head over to the local plant sale and see what I can find for the garden.  The kids are going to spend the day and night with the grandparents on the lake, and I’ll head out there tomorrow to do some moreling and have dinner.  Then Sunday & Monday are up in the air.  Catch a movie with the kids?  Plant my garden?  Mow the lawn (not optional). Read …. (optional, but not really with me).  All kinds of decisions!

Leave a Reply

