Big week for new releases

One of my favorite things in the world is a the release of a book I’ve been anxiously awaiting.  I can’t wait to dive back into the world the author has so meticulously created, reconnect with the characters I love and hate.  It’s like a little slice of heaven on earth.

So imagine my absolute joy and rapture that not 1 but 3 books are being released this week for my reading pleasure.  My problem now – which do I read first?

Kitty & the Dead Man's HandIn anticipation of this new release – I’ve been re-reading the first four books this week.  I had forgotten how much I like Kitty and Ben *sigh*, but I also really like Cormac too …. what’s a girl to do?!?  My only complaint at this point?  The book was released on 1/27/09, but the kindle version isn’t available until 2/1/09.  *GASP*  Why on EARTH would a publisher punish me that way…. I can’t handle waiting for the microwave to finish heating up lunch let alone wait a whopping 6 days for a book.  It ALMOST came down to driving to the bookstore to pick it up.  But then I realized it had been awhile since I’ve read her first four books, and I could make due with re-reading while I wait for Sunday.  3 down, and only 1 more to go!

prideAnother hot new release I’ve been dying to read is Pride by Rachel Vincent – third in the Shape Shifters series.  I can hardly wait to find out what happens with Faythe when she’s brought before the tribunal for incidents that happened in book 2.  I LOVE LOVE LOVE this series.  And, luckily I’m on vacation until Thursday, with a long flight coming up Tuesday night, so I will knock this one off in record time.  (which is both good and bad …. I hate the wait for the next one!)  I will say this once however, if this book isn’t available for download on Kindle tomorrow morning, I may consider homicide!  Both the Kitty and Mercy books were available for pre-order on the kindle, but there’s nothing up for pre-ordering on Pride.  *keeps fingers crossed the book gods will be nice to me tomorrow*.  Also, you can read an excerpt of Pride on the author’s website here.  I highly recommend the entire series, and will be reviewing Pride once I finish it.  From what I’ve read so far, it lives up to the first two.

bone-crossedAnother long time favorite is the Mercy Thompson series by Patricia Briggs.  I am SO happy that this one is being released on Feb 3rd so I don’t have to fight between Pride and Bone Crossed for first dibs reading.  I have no idea what I would do if they were released the same day!  I can’t wait to find out what happens with Mercy and Adam.  I love the relationship between these two, and it sounds like Stefan plays a large part in this latest release.  Can’t wait!

So – that’s my reading schedule for the week.  I will be posting reviews once I finish them. 

Happy reading!

*oooooooh and coming up the following week – Fade by Lisa McMann!!*

Leave a Reply

