Review: Ender in Exile

ender-in-exileEnder’s Game by Orson Scott Card is one of my favorite books of all time, but, I’ve never really been able to get into and enjoy the Ender sequels (Xenocide, Speaker for the Dead etc).  I read a few reviews on Amazon for Ender in Exile, and decided to give it a chance.  I’m really glad I did.  Ender in Exile begins following the aftermath of the Formic (aka bugger) war, when Ender wins the final battle. 

As I started reading Exile, I realized it had been awhile since I read Ender’s Game.  I searched my house high and low, but could not find my copy.  I’m sure I loaned it out to someone and never got it back.  So, I decided to download it on Kindle so that I could re-read that first.  Low & behold, there is no kindle version of Ender’s Game!!!!   Needless to say I was a little disappointed.  I ended up reading Exile, without re-reading Game, but it ended up being ok.  Pieces of Game that I forgot came back to me quickly while reading Exile. 

Favorite part:  When Ender arrives on Shakespeare colony (no spoilers), just my favorite part. 🙂

This book is the perfect segue into Speaker for the Dead, and I’m planning on re-reading Speaker and Xenocide with a more informed eye. 

Rating: 9 – Excellent!  (probably worthy of a ten, but nothing can quite compare to the original Ender’s Game in my mind)

Amazon:  Hardcover, Kindle, Audible (audio clip on Audible of Orson Scott Card discussing his writing and the direct links between Ender’s Game and Ender in Exile)

One response to “Review: Ender in Exile

  1. Steve, my hubby, is a huge Orson Scott Card. I am sad to say I could never get into him.

Leave a Reply

