Review: The Eye of Night

One of my favorite discoveries this last year, is a community of authors and readers who take their time to write about books.  I first stumbled upon Lysrian’s “I Read What?” blog midway through the year, and thought it was a great idea.  I read so many books, that I lose track of my likes and dislikes, I lose track of those authors that I really want to read more of, the series that I start but never finish because I’ve forgotten about them by the time the next book is published.  A few months ago, Lysrian reviewed Wanderlust by Ann Aguire.  Both a book and author I had never heard of, nor seen on bookshelves.  I was intrigued by the story line though, and my next stop at a bookstore, I picked up Grimspace, the first book in the Jax series.  I really enjoyed it.  The story line was unique, the writing brought the story alive.  I had found a new favorite author.  So imagine my happiness when I discovered she had a blog of her own.  I subscribed to the rss feed, and have been happily keeping up to date with Ann’s happenings.  About a week ago, she posted a rave review about the book The Eye of the Night by Pauline Alama.  She was so complimentary of the book I had to read it myself.  I downloaded the book on my kindle immediately after reading the review, and started the book that night.

eye-of-nightThe Eye of the Night – By Pauline Alama

One of the frustrations I have with the Kindle, is they don’t include the back blurb with the downloads.  I found this by googling Eye of the Night synopsis.

“The Troubles coming down from the North threaten to engulf the world in chaos. Even time and reason seem frayed to the breaking point. Jereth, disillusioned ex-priest of the Rising God and sole survivor of a shipwreck, finds his own life the perfect mirror of a world spiralling toward catastrophe. He has nothing; he has nowhere to go. But then one night he meets two mysterious women, a prophet and a fool, each with her own secrets. They involve him in a quest to save the world from death by traveling into the heart of the Troubles, bearing a talisman of night. He follows them without really understanding their quest – for their dark vision gives him his first glimpse of hope. But what can three penniless vagabonds, unarmed and unprepared, do about forces that threaten to crack the world?” Pauline Alama

I was captivated with this story from the first line.

“I little thought, when I begged shelter at Kelgarran Hall one rainy night, that I should take part in its downfall.” 

The story draws you into the quest of the main characters, and lures you along with a  love story that remains in the background until the last quarter of the book.  The love that develops between Hwyn and Jereth is heartbreakingly pure.  Most of the time, Epic Fantasys have so many characters that it’s hard to keep everyone straight.  I find myself flipping back through pages trying to remember who so-and-so is.  I didn’t have that problem in this book.  There are a lot of secondary characters, but they’re so well developed, you don’t forget them.  And, unlike some books, the names are very dissimilar, so I never confused one for the other.  I’m having a very hard time letting this story go, and it’s more than just the main characters, the world that she created haunts me. 

I truly enjoyed this book, and am looking forward to discussing it with others who are reading it based on Ann’s review.  She’s setting up a book club to discuss it after everyone’s had a chance to read it.  Once she sets that up, I’ll post links from here. 

Rating: 10 – Perfect!

6 responses to “Review: The Eye of Night

  1. “I’m having a very hard time letting this story go, and it’s more than just the main characters, the world that she created haunts me. ”

    Yes. It’s the perfect book. Didn’t you just adore it? I can’t wait to talk about it more in depth.

  2. Wow – you’re quick! I just posted the review like 2 minutes ago! Yes, I absolutely adore it. THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU for writing the review. I can’t wait for her to come out with another book!

  3. Kindle does include the back blurb with the downloads? That’s bit odd, don’t you think? I wonder why that is.

  4. I didn’t actually read your review as I won one of the copies Ann offered and I’m waiting until we have a book club date to start reading it (I forget stuff very quickly due to health issues). But I was delighted to see the “10” at the end. I do think I’m going to like this book.

  5. Yep – no back blurb, which makes it really difficult to remember why you downloaded it if you don’t read them right away. One of the few “suggestions” I have for improvement :). I download a lot of samples too – usually the first part of the first chapter, which is kind of my to be bought TBR list. Most times I have to look the book up on Amazon to figure out why I downloaded the sample.

  6. Congrats on winning! I hope you enjoy the book as much as I did. I found myself digging through some of my old books for The Green Rider by Kristen Britain. It’s back on my re-read list after reading EotN. I will be reviewing that after I re-read it, but the world building, epic fantasy, of EotN reminded me of the Green Rider series. I want to see if I like it as much as I remember.

Leave a Reply

